Desert Island Tims – An audio blog with a difference

Desert Island Discs has been a popular radio show running for almost 70 years.

The show features a celebrity who is being ‘sent to a Desert Island’ and asked to choose eight songs with a personal meaning, a book and a luxury item to take with them. They talk about their lives and their reasons for choosing each song.

Desert Island Tims (a Tim being a nickname given to a fan of Glasgow Celtic Football Club) is a website and podcast download based on the same theme. ‘Celebrities’ amongst the world of Celtic are invited on to the show by the host and creator Billy.

I was taken aback when Billy asked me if I would record a show with him. It seems that my blogging and my constant presence on twitter and at Celtic Park had been making more of an impact than I realised. Naturally, I was delighted to accept the offer.

The link below will allow you to listen to my Desert Island Tims recording. If you have the time then please, feel free to listen and learn a little bit more about myself.

I talk about my youth, my accident, depression, my parents, religion, friends, family, my inspirations, my future and of course why certain songs are important to me.

Any questions then go ahead and ask, nothing is too personal.

Desert Island Tims – Tetraplegic Bhoy

26 Comments

  1. I have listened to part of the interview. I will have to finish it in the morning. You sound great. And it’s wonderful putting voices to the written word. I can’t wait to hear the rest of it.

    • I hope you can understand my broad Scottish accent! X

      • What? you have an accent??? 🙂

      • It’s hard to believe isn’t it? 🙂 🙂

  2. Brilliant! I spent a pleasant hour listening to the show. You’ve got a bit of an accent, you know. I didn’t know you’d lived in Edinburgh; I was there for a year before I came to Canada. It’s great that they gave you some recognition. I think I can see your smile from here….

    • I moved to Edinburgh for work but ended up loving it. Don’t think I am being biased when I say it is one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

      Thanks for listening Cheryl, glad you enjoyed it

      • I loved Edinburgh too. A really fabulous city to live in.

        I sometimes listened to Desert Island Discs back in England, so it was great to hear the same format but with someone I know. How cool is that!

        Was it hard to pick the music?

      • Extremely difficult being limited to only 8 songs. I am a music buff and I could have named 80 songs that mean something to me. Still, happy with the final decision.

  3. I’m so happy to have a voice to match with your face now, Steven. 😉
    Thank you for sharing the link.
    The accents are so much fun for this not-well-travelled American! It was fun learning more about you, and hearing more of what you have already written about, too.

    • I hope you managed to understand despite the accent! Much of it was repetition of what I have written here but for a different ‘audience’. Glad you still enjoyed it 🙂

  4. I was glad to hear your voice. Wow. What a great interview. Sixteen months in hospital. Wow. You have a lovely family and great friends. You mentioned that you never idolized famous people, but are there some you at least admire (besides perhaps the musicians of the songs you picked)?

    • Absolutely. I admire many famous people but probally none that are controversial or out of the ordinary. Nelson Mandela springs to mind straight away. I think David Beckham is a fantastic role model as a professional sportsman and as a father. I admire the likes of Denzel Washington, Edward Norton and Al Pacino for their acting talent. I could go on and on but it is limited to admiration.

      Thank you for the compliments regarding my family and friends, I couldn’t agree more! Thank you for taking all the time to listen.

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Hey Steven, clicked the linked & saw it was an hour. Want to listen to the whole thing, so will need to find the right moment. This will be interesting. This is great! And I love Scottish acents 🙂

    • I hope you get the chance, I’d love to know what you think (assuming you can understand accent!).

      Please let me know if you get round to it, thanks.

  6. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Really enjoyed the podcast, Steven. When you spoke of mischief – oh yeah, I could imagine (that’s why I love the accent – it’s CHEEKY 🙂 ).

    What did you enrol in Uni to study? What was your plan? Only answer if you want, just curious (& sorry if you’ve said & I’ve forgotten!).

    Love the music interlude – though I don’t remember that song! I was around in the 90s…. well, Daniel was born 96 so maybe I’m just a tad older than you. Still, good interlude.

    Thought you said you were extremely FAT!! But yeah, fit 🙂 Holy shit they usually find that post mortem. My God, I didn’t realise that Steven.

    Your friends and family are awesome, Steven, awesome. They just are. Blessings to you,

    Ah yes, remember The Pinball song, remember that one … ah smile…Actually great music all the way through, Steven.

    I really, really appreciated this. Thanks for this chat. I listened off my laptop while cooking in the kitchen. You are amazing, truly amazing and wonderful, strong. I’m really impressed, but also love the sound of you. Just love your chat.

    Sincerely, N’n.

    • I’m glad you got the chance to listen, thank you for such a great comment. Always good to get the views of others, I think it helps us see ourselves.

      I studied sports science and physiology at uni. The plan was physiotherapy but I realised quickly that it wasn’t for me, not what I imagined it to be. I ended up working in retail management after that. Stressful but that’s what I loved about it!

      I was a fitness freak before the accident. Over the first three or four years after the accident I piled the weight on, my diet was terrible. Partly boredom, partly depression and partly unaware what I was doing due to all the morphine. I’ve worked really really hard over the last two years and managed to lose all that weight (about 40kg, 8st). Not easy when you can’t do any form of exercise. It’s worth it though, needed to get my confidence back and I have.

      Anyway, this is turning into a post of its own 🙂

      thanks again for the comment
      x

  7. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Amazing how football brought you out (forgot to say). Sport has massive importance in our wellbeing.

    • I just needed to find a passion for something and that happen to be my football. Don’t know where I would have ended up without it.

  8. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Love your hip hop at 36:56 but it suddenly stopped playing – wonder if that’s me or the thing? Cooking up eggs right now. I’ll wait & see if it kicks in…

    • Variety is the spice of life and all that. Great song if you ever get the chance to listen to the lyrics properly.

  9. Just managed to listen to the full recording and am reeling from the shock of no Perry Como or a touch of Dean Martin in there. That aside it was a great listen Steven. I think I knew a few things about your story from the blog but it was good to hear you fill in a few gaps. I was interested to know what you’d studied at Uni and your career plans as well.

    Throughout the chat I thought your positivity shone and your sense of perspective about life must impress anyone listening. Your love for your family and friends is clear. I bet they feel enriched to have you.

    The new season’s on the doorstep now !

    • I don’t mind a bit of Dean Martin from time to time but we were talking top 8, I had to be ruthless 🙂

      There won’t have been much that you didn’t know, you have been with me the whole way on both blogs since the beginning. Something I am very grateful for.

      I was studying sports science and physiology with the long-term plan being physiotherapy. Turns out it just wasn’t for me, unlike the student nightlife!

      Thank you for being so kind, I do hope my friends and family appreciate me half as much as I appreciate them.

      Can’t wait for Tuesday, back to paradise!

  10. Between you and Shaun I’m going to eventually be EPIC at understanding the heavy Scottish accent. Fun stuff! Great concept! Congrats on the interview! 🙂

    • You will also become a Celtic fan! You may be better rationing your exposure to us!

      • LOL! Don’t hate me, but I don’t know much about footie. Celtics are footie, right? I suppose I should try and understand it.

  11. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Hiya Steven, I’ve mentioned you in my post today (Part XII). Hope you don’t mind. If you object to the reference, please do tell me & I will pull it.

    Sincerely,
    Noeleen

Leave a Reply

