Taking a moment

I had planned on getting started straight away with sharing some more of my story but that will need to wait for a bit. Instead I need to take a very quick moment to thank everyone for the overwhelming reaction to Hospital memories part one – Spain.

That post and the whole blog is, admittedly, for my own benefit. Or at least it was.

I have never been one to keep secrets or hide my emotions but that has been safe within my circle of friends and family. Sharing with relative strangers required accepting that I was opening myself up to a different kind of judgement and opinion.

It would be impossible to overstate how thankful I am for the way that trust has been rewarded. I promise that even if I did not get round to replying, every single tweet and comment has been gratefully received.

Many of you took the time to credit the strength and support shown by my friends and family. I thank you for the welcome reminder . I never really forget but for strangers to point it out emphasises just how lucky I am. Without them the past six years would have moulded me into an angry and depressed figure. They have always been there to stop that. They still are to this day.

So many comments echoed sentiments that while the post was a difficult read it was also strangely enjoyable. I promise that exactly the same can be said for writing it. The memories can be upsetting to recall but sharing them with you has given me the opportunity to recognise the many positives. I have already found the process beneficial and as I have said, much cheaper than a therapist!

I’m not going to go on for long but it is important that you understand something very important. To be labelled ‘inspirational’ by so many of you has had an extraordinary impact.

In today’s society people often look down on someone with my physical condition who is also medically vulnerable. To ever be called inspirational seemed like a thing of the past. I am far from lacking in confidence but after six years even I am humbled by such compliments. It was not the use of the word, but the genuine sincerity with which it was used.

That’s all I wanted to say, thank you.

I can’t say how long the next instalment will take to write. Putting many disconnected memories together without embellishment is a slow process. Especially with this voice recognition!

I’ll be with you as soon as I can

@Stevenceltic81

10 Comments

  1. And this is why I will follow your story. You are a class act sir. Thank you for opening your story to all of us.

    • Thank you again Colleen. The encouragement goes a long way!

  2. Take your time. I like long stories. 🙂

    Many thanks for your kind, and thoughtful comments, Steven.

    Cheryl

  3. thereek

    Take your time. It’ll be worth the wait.

    • I hope so mate. Not going to be as flowing but hopefully all the little bits will come together. Hope you are well pal

  4. prayingforoneday

    Steven, welcome to the REAL WordPress. And thanks again for your comments the other night. They meant so much to me.
    So.

    Please accept this award
    http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/2013/03/28/the-liebster-award/
    Deserved, for you
    Shaun

    ps:
    Just follow the rules, and well deserved mate.
    More to come for you.
    Hope you are well.

    • I have left a response on your page and I hope you realise how sincerely I mean it.

      Still not sure what to do but I will get my head around it tomorrow.

      Thanks again mate

  5. prayingforoneday

    Meant to add mate. Are you following this? http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/
    I changed my URL a while back. If not, unfollow the old one, and follow that one. Cheers bud. HH

    • Already following the right one Shaun

      Cheers

      • prayingforoneday

        No worries bud, just checking. HH

Leave a Reply

